Making a chicken s-t-r-e-t-c-h-!

While I would love to spend all my time, sewing, knitting, crafting and making special bakes (see Christmas pudding yesterday), sometimes it is all about making simple things go further.   With this in mind – bring on the humble chicken. 

Now I doubt there will be anything new to most readers of this type of blog but in case I reach one person who hasn’t realised just how far you can make a chicken go, then this is how to make a chicken s-t-r-e-t-c-h.

Today – a simple roast:

DSCN1243

I realise this chicken doesn’t look great – I had pulled off all the golden crispy skin before I remembered that I needed to photograph it!  So imagine it, if you will, all golden and crispy looking.  Shortly after this it was carved and added to veggies, roast potatoes, Yorkshire puddings (I know, traditionally only served with beef but so good what meal isn’t enhanced by a few Yorkshires?).  Lots of gravy finished off our roast.   Most importantly, though, lots of chicken left.  So, over the next few nights this chicken will feed us (3 people) for many more meals. To come, then, this week there will be blogs about pies, stock, risotto and soup.  Over to you – how far can you make a chicken s-t-r-e-t-c-h?

Leave a Reply

