Cheese and potato pie with leeks and bacon

I haven’t done a food post for a few days so I thought I would share details of tonight’s dinner with you.   This is one of our favourite meals, good in summer but especially good on a cold November evening.  It is called pie although there is no pastry involved, I guess it is more of a ‘bake’ than a pie.

First off you need to get some potatoes on the boil for making mash.  Boil up enough potatoes for the number of people you are feeding – potatoes do make up the bulk of the dish so bear this in mind when calculating amounts.   While the spuds are cooking gently fry some bacon bits and chopped leeks.

DSCN1439[1]DSCN1438[1]

I always add a good dollop of soft cheese to the mash.  Once the leeks and bacon have cooked down, mix them in with the mash.

DSCN1440[1]DSCN1441[1]

After this just grate a generous helping of strong cheddar over the top and finish off in the oven – you want the cheese to melt and the top to turn golden brown.

DSCN1442[1]DSCN1443[1]

This is a warming and filling dinner and a real family favourite.   Any leftovers (!) heat up nicely the next day for lunch.

I had this with tomatoes and beetroot as I wanted a splash of real colour on my plate at the end of a very grey day.

DSCN1444[1]

My mum used to make this when I was young so it has a real association for me with family, home, comfort, warmth, love.

Over to you, what are firm favourites with your family?

Leave a Reply

