Back to a routine….

The holiday period is now done and dusted – OH returned to work today and small person goes back to school tomorrow.   I will then get on with lots of preparation for my teaching term which starts next Monday.   And now a normal routine is back in place I should get back to regular daily blogging.

A food blog tonight – leek, potato and stilton soup and homemade bread for dinner.   In the winter months we usually have soup and bread one night a week and whilst I always enjoy it the anticipation is usually more of a meh! than woohoo!    However tonight’s soup was really good.

I sweated down the onion and leek and then added the chopped potato.    And this is the last photo I remembered to take of the soup.

DSCN1601[1]DSCN1602[1]

 

Once the vegetables had sweated down I added some veggie stock cubes and some boiled water and simmered for a while.   Once the potatoes were soft I blitzed the soup and then added a big chunk of stilton to melt down in to the soup and a small slug of cream and a good twist of black pepper.   Sorry I forgot to photograph the final version but it really was good.

DSCN1594[1]DSCN1595[1]DSCN1596[1]DSCN1597[1]DSCN1599[1]

The bread was 450g of bread flour (I do half wholemeal half strong white), 1/2 teaspoon of salt, 1/2 teaspoon of sugar, 1 and 1/2 teaspoons fast action yeast and 300ml lukewarm water.   Then I have to confess I let the kenwood do the rest, after the first prove (when, as you will see the mix doubles in size), it give it one more minute with the dough hook and put in the loaf tin for a second prove, during which it, again, doubles in size, then bake for 25 mins at 220.

This was a good supper, perfect for a chilly evening.

Over  to you – has anyone been struck by the post-Christmas blues?

Leave a Reply

