Bubble and squeak

A great way to use up leftover veg from Sunday’s roast.     I had quite a lot of steamed cabbage and carrots left from Sunday so I retrieved these from the fridge tonight in order to make up some bubble and squeak ‘cakes’.  

I prefer to cook these in the oven rather than fry them.  If you have left over potatoes then you can use those, obviously, but I didn’t so the first thing to do was get some spuds going.

DSCN1683[1]

I didn’t boil these completely, I didn’t want to make mash, I thought I would just soften them slightly, drain them and allow them to cool and then grate them so the bubble and squeak cakes had a texture more like a rosti.

Leftover veg, chopped and with a good handful of grated cheddar cheese added:

DSCN1684[1]

Then add the grated potato:

DSCN1686[1]

Mix well (I used my hands) and then I put the a generous handful of the mixture in to each section of a greased muffin tray:

DSCN1687[1]

Put a little more cheese on the top of each ‘cake’ and then bake in the oven for about 30 mins at 180.

Before and after:

DSCN1688[1]DSCN1689[1]

And on the plate:

DSCN1690[1]

We had these with some chipolata sausages – yum.

Leave a Reply

