A spot of book buying

We have an excellent charity book shop in town and so I indulged in a little retail therapy today.

DSCN1807[1]

I am a huge Gladys Mitchell fan and this is one of hers that I haven’t got (or ever managed to get from the library).   .

I had not heard of the Linda Stratmann novels before but as the book shop were selling books for £2 each or 3 for £5 I thought I would by all three.   They are crime fiction novels set in the nineteenth century so a perfect combination for me.  I have read some of Stratmann’s non fiction books and she is a very good writer who does exemplary research so it will be interesting to see how she turns her hand to fiction.

I haven’t read any of the Runcie Granchester mysteries before but I have seen the tv adaptations (which I did enjoy).  Hopefully the books will be even better.

I thought the Beatrix Potter biography looked interesting, she did lead an unconventional life for her time and it will be interesting to find out more about her life beyond her wonderful books for children.

A Wilkie Collins sensation novel was also purchased.  I am a huge Collins admirer and this is one of the few of his that I have yet to read so it was a great little find.

The shopping wasn’t all about me though: I did buy small person a couple of Enid Blyton Secret Seven books too.  She has read some of the Famous Five (as well as Malory Towers) and has been keen to read some of the Secret Seven too.    She also wants to read some of the St Clare books so we are keeping a look-out for these.

As teaching has now finished for this academic year it will be nice to have a bit of time for non-work-related reading.

Leave a Reply

