Making a move…….

Plans are afoot for us to move house in the summer.   We should be moving to Somerset from Surrey.   This plan has been in the background for some months but it is now in the very near future rather than the distant future.

We have lived in our current house for 10 years and what at one time seemed like a good feature is now going to bite us on the bum, namely – storage space.  We have a lot of it.   Big attic, lots of big cupboards – all of which have got very full over the last 10 years.    Now we have to sort and clear and the very thought of it makes me want to lie down in a darkened room!

If I could just put the house on the back of a truck then I would but as that isn’t possible I am going to have to tackle the clutter.

I have collected a stack of donation bags from the British Heart Foundation and if you have a lot of stuff to donate they will collect.  My plan is, in the first instance, to aim to fill 1 or 2 bags a day and when I have a significant number, ask them to collect.  I think if I do this a few times over we will be able to get rid of a lot of unwanted stuff.

I wont know if we will need to get rid of any furniture until we have found a new house in Somerset.

I think I have already decided that I will pay extra to have a removal company do the packing as well.  I have already had some rough quotations and the price difference between doing the packing ourselves and getting the company to do it isn’t that much and I think it will be money well spent.

I plan to start tomorrow – one (hopefully two) bags of unwanted ‘stuff” will be sorted.  If I say it here then I will have to do it – or have to confess failure in my post tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Making a move…….

Leave a Reply

