Socks!

I have never knitted a pair of socks, but it is always something I have been meaning to get the hang of.

Red Socks Clip Art

I have tried using sock needles but really haven’t been able to get the hang of them.  I think the main problem is that I tend to do knitting when I am tired so tend to stick to things that are fairly easy – two needles I am used to, any more leaves me a little flummoxed!

I was delighted to find a blog that offered a free knitting pattern for socks knitted on two needles.  The site specifically asks that the pattern is not posted to other sites without permission so I am just putting a link to the main site.

http://www.lindascraftique.com/

It is an American site with quite a few free patterns.

I downloaded this today so when I am next in town I will pick up some 4 ply sock yarn and have a go.   I am hoping this goes well – I am thinking Christmas presents – is it too early to be thinking of Christmas presents?

I am not just thinking of knitting socks for other people I am planning on making some for myself – if they work out okay.   I know lots of knitters find socks really simple and quick to do but I seem to have had a real mental block with them.   Hopefully at some point in the future I will be able to master knitting socks on dpns but in the meantime perhaps this two needle version will enable me to get sock knitting!

Leave a Reply

