A busy day in the kitchen

Well I did get outside for a bit – mostly to put washing out!    Some clearing of weeds and moss from the front path was accomplished – mostly by OH though.

I feel like I spent most of the day in the kitchen – but there was a lot to show for it by the end.

I retrieved 4 chicken carcasses from the freezer to make chicken stock:

DSCN1986[1]

Not the prettiest photo to put on a blog!   Once it was made, strained, skimmed and reduced I poured the stock in to ice cube trays and put them back in the freezer so I can use one or two as and when I need them.

I also had another jam making session – summer fruits:

DSCN1987[1]

This lot made 11 pots of jam.

I also had several lots of left-over roast chicken tucked away in the freezer so I got them out early this morning and when they had defrosted this afternoon I had a pie making session:

DSCN1988[1]

These all got baked today, we had one for dinner tonight and the other two will go in the freezer for another day.

Tomorrow I am not spending most of the day in the kitchen – a nice long bike ride is planned.

Menu plan for the week is a bit vague but might take the following form:

Monday: sausages, cous cous and roasted veg

Tuesday:  Homity pie

Wednesday:  Steamed fish, mash potatoes, veg and parsley sauce

Thursday: Pasta and a sauce made out of what ever needs using up!

Friday:  Fish night

Hope you are all having a good weekend.  Until tomorrow….

Leave a Reply

