They don’t make them like they used to…?

Or do they?

A domestic disaster happened today, a calamity the like of which this household has never seen before.   All was chaos, shock, surprise and despair.    I might be over-egging the pudding a little here – our iron blew up.

‘Oh come on’ I hear you cry – well, you probably aren’t but you might well be wondering why all the fuss over an iron, surely irons ‘go’ all the time.

This iron, however, has been with me a long time.  I bought it when I left home at 18, in two months I will be 46 – I’ve had this iron longer than I have had jobs, some friends and my husband!

Here is my trusty friend who, until today, had never let me down (unlike some jobs, some friends and occasionally my husband!):

DSCN2054[1]

This morning, however, BANG:

DSCN2055[1]

This is the spot out of which sparks flew.

Here is a close up of the writing on the base of the iron –  I hope you can read it:

DSCN2057[1]

Made in West Germany!   Look at this iron and you need never know the Berlin wall came down.

So I bought a new iron today, it wasn’t the most expensive iron available nor was it the cheapest but, goodness, when did irons get so complicated?   At some point in the 28 years since I last bought one I guess.

Will my new iron last as long as the last one – only time will tell.    Did my old iron last so long because it was well made, built to last or because I am generally quite crumpled in appearance and only iron when I absolutely have to?  That would be telling….

Farewell old friend!

Until tomorrow…

www.natural-alchemy.co.uk

4 thoughts on “They don’t make them like they used to…?

  1. I would place a bet on your new iron not lasting so long! I’m on my 4th iron since 1975 and I thought that was good but your iron beats that by a mile.

    Like

Leave a Reply

