Getting out of a food rut and some menu planning

It is quite easy to get stuck in a rut with food isn’t it?

I have been thinking that lately about the food I have been making.  Don’t get me wrong I have not got in to a pattern of the same dish every Monday night, same dish every Tuesday night, and so on.  But I do seem to be coming back to the same 20 or 30 dishes that I always make.   They are ones that are all made from scratch so I can do them without really having to think too much about it.   They please all three of us so I know they will get eaten.   Every once in a while I do think of something new, or think of something that uses familiar ingredients but in a different way, but not often enough.

So, over the last couple of evenings I have been going through recipe books (of which we have far too many) and making a list of new recipes.   They still have to be accommodated within our modest food budget and many of them will be using the same basic ingredients but re-imagined a little.

The aim is to make one or two ‘new’ dishes a week, just to break the cycle of same-old-same-old.

Menu plan for this week:

Tonight:  Ham and mozzarella calzone (never made these before yet we make pizza often – so just a slight reimagining of something quite basic)

Sunday:   Brunch – homemade potato cakes with bacon and fried eggs.   We nearly always have pancakes on Sunday so tomorrow I will make potato cakes as they are something I have been meaning to try for ages.   I blame The Waltons, they are always eating potato cakes – that is where the desire to make them has come from.

Sunday:  Dinner – Beefy goodness casserole, with roast potatoes, Yorkshire puddings and veg.

Monday:  Tuna fishcakes – small person has requested these because I have promised them at least once a week for the last couple of weeks and then haven’t made them because something else needed using up.   They are a firm favourite here and as we haven’t had them for weeks I am happy to make a very familiar dish.

Tuesday:   Tortilla with spring onions, potatoes, bacon, peppers etc.   Have not made tortilla for – well I simply can’t remember when I last did – so this counts as a ‘new’ dish as it is definitely not a recipe we regularly fall back on.

Wednesday:   Red onion and brie tart – I make quiche very often but decided it would count as something ‘new’ if I varied the filling from being veg that needs using up covered with eggs and cheese!

Thursday:    Pasta with tuna, anchovies, onion, mushroom, black olives, herbs and passata.  This falls in to the category of being a fairly regular family favourite, so not a new dish.

Friday:  Home made fish and chips.   Did I say at the start that we are not in habit of having the same thing on the same night of the week, week in – week out.  Well, okay, you got me, we always have homemade fish and chips on a Friday but I fear there would be a revolution if I tried to mess with that tradition and it is the one night of the week when OH cooks – so why would I want to mess with that tradition!

So, overall, four ‘new’ things to make this week.   None of them wildly exciting or unusual but changes don’t have to be massive to have an impact.   And I have made a long list of other things to make which will offer a little bit of variety to our eating habits.

I hope you are all having a good weekend and enjoying the lovely sunshine.

Until tomorrow…

www.natural-alchemy.co.uk

So

Leave a Reply

