A sewing morning

I have just packed the sewing machine away after a couple of hours cutting and sewing.

I mentioned last week that I finally got round to having a go at making some bias binding with bias binding makers I bought ages ago.

DSCN2531[1]

The plan was to make a new apron – I am a mucky cook and only have a couple of aprons so I thought another one would be useful and could also make use of some of the excess in my fabric stash.

I used the simple cotton curtain fabric that I bought in a charity shop ages go (and which I also used to make toy storage for small person the other week):

DSCN2441[1]

An apron is a very simple make.  I simply cut around an apron I already have:

DSCN2554[1]

I used my homemade bias to edge the curved sides and a simple doubled over hem all around the rest of the apron.   I added some more of the pink gingham to edge the top of the apron and to add some pockets.  I made simple fabric strip ties and neck loop – long strips of fabric doubled over and stitched.    Also, as I liked the little gingham hearts I added to the toy storage I decided to embellish the apron with a couple too!

DSCN2555[1]

Lidl have been good with sewing ‘stuff’ lately, I paid just £3.99 for this last week:

DSCN2553[1]

For the bobbins alone, I thought this was good value and there is a reel of cotton to match every filled bobbing put four reels of extra strong thread and a real of invisible thread.  I used one of the white bobbins and one of the white reels of thread from this today and it was nice strong thread that I had no problems with.

I know that in the coming week Lidl have another Singer sewing machine in store and an overlocker!   I don’t think I can justify an overlocker yet but it is something I aspire to.

The postman has just delivered the latest Lakeland catalogue so I am off to do some wish-listing.

I hope you are all having a good day.

Until tomorrow…

www.natural-alchemy.co.uk

4 thoughts on “A sewing morning

Leave a Reply

