The Home-Maker

I stayed up very late last night to finish the last of my four Persephone books.  The Home-Maker by Dorothy Canfield Fisher.

A really excellent exploration of the traditional roles of male bread-winner and female homemaker (written 1924).  It isn’t  a rant against these roles just a fictional exploration of when they don’t work and a, for it’s time, striking way of making things right.

The novel explores the health (mental and physical) of an entire family when the domestic situation isn’t working and then, when it does.

I am now bereft of Persephone books to read, there are plenty on my wish list – if anyone would like to make specific recommendations I would be glad to receive them.

Flo was back to school today so I spent my time giving the house the sort of clean that is easier to do when you have the place to yourself!

Tomorrow is work plans, am feeling underemployed at the moment so need to get myself more work, I have some but not as much as I am used to – and am earning less than this time last year so would like to rectify that too!

Hope you are all having a good week.

 

6 thoughts on “The Home-Maker

    1. ! That’s funny. I always read the foreward after I have read a book because I don’t want anyone telling me what to think and, if I am completely unfamiliar with the plot etc, I don’t what any plotspoilers!

      Like

  1. I love it when a book keeps me up late. I just read frothy rubbish really, something easy to pick up and just as easy to leave.

    It’s so much easier to get on with tasks without little people around. Even if we miss them :O) x

    Like

    1. It is a real treat to stay up late and read a book, you know you are tired, have to get up in the morning etc etc but you just can’t put it down – reminds me of when I was young and reading under the bedclothes, after lights out, with a torch!

      Like

Leave a Reply

