Funny old feelings

I discovered I was going to be a mum within weeks of my mum dying so Mother’s Day is always a funny old mixture of sadness and happiness.

I know that will be true for many.   My lovely girl is the best thing that has happened to me and not a day goes by when she doesn’t make me smile.  Tomorrow she will come with me to the cemetery so that I can leave flowers for my mum.  This is the first time we have done this together on Mother’s Day as until we moved we were too far away to do so.

I mentioned this morning that I was going to go there tomorrow (it’s about a half an hour drive from where we live now) and she asked if she could come with me. Of course I said yes.

There may well be a few tears but there will also be lots of smiles.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Funny old feelings

  1. Mother’s Day and Father’s Day are bitter sweet aren’t they. I always think of people who have lost their mums and mums who have lost children. What a lovely thing for you and Flo to do together. Hope you enjoy your day. Xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

