Book find

Cookery book this time.

I found this book in the charity shop the other day:

DSCN3061[1].JPG

We regularly have three or four meat free dinners each week but I do tend to trot out the same tried and tested dishes.

We are not vegetarian by any stretch of the imagination but I do like us to have meat free meals for reasons of economy and health.

I’m a big fan of Delia and have a lot many of her books but this one was not in my collection and so finding it for a few pounds was too good an opportunity to ignore.

The intention is to cook one or two recipes from it each week to add a bit of  variety to our meat free dinners.

I have had a quick look through and there are plenty of dishes that should go down well here.

I will do a  more detailed read through later and make a list for myself of dishes to try.  I do have a couple of vegetarian cookbooks but they seem to be of the ‘100 ways with lentils and mushrooms’ variety and collectively have given me no more than half a dozen recipes that I like the sound of.  Delia promises a  bit more I think.

Last day of the school holiday today.   Flo and I have swimming planned for today.

Have a good day everyone.

Until tomorrow…

www.natural-alchemy.co.uk

 

6 thoughts on “Book find

  1. I quite often choose the vegetarian option if we eat out because they tend to be more tasty and exciting than the usual meaty fare. I quite often eat meat free. I think that’s one of Delia’s books I don’t have. She makes good homecokked meals I think!

    Like

    1. I agree, I think she does too. I know some people think she is a bit ‘safe’ but for me, generally, ‘safe’ is fine for everyday meals. I do like experimenting and trying new things for but a mid-week supper you just want to be able to get on with it!

      Like

  2. That was a very good find in the charity shop. I’ve never owned a Delia book but I know people swear by her recipes saying they’re easy to follow, which would be good for someone like me who’s no culinary expert. Enjoy your swimming session.

    Like

  3. I often have meat free days, and it’s the section I browse first in pubs and menus. Old habits tie hard, I was veggie from age 18 – 25.
    I love Deila books, I’ve got a couple. Especially love the winter one.
    Hope all went well for Back To School :O) x

    Like

    1. Her winter one is lovely, and the summer one. And Christmas wouldn’t be Christmas without her Christmas book! The back to school went well this morning, thanks. I hope Violet has got back in to the routine okay too. x

      Like

Leave a Reply

