Holiday reading

We had some time away recently – we have been back over a week but I have no idea what happened to that week.

We spent our holiday this year on the west coast of Wales in a lovely quiet spot, no TV, no radio, no Wifi – very relaxing.

Crime fiction is my holiday reading of choice.   This is what I got through during the week.

 

IMG_1376

Conclusions drawn from this – must read lots more Ann Cleeves – these are the first and only two of hers that I have read so far (they are both from the Shetland series) and I now want to read the rest of that series, and then more because she is a great crime writer and I don’t know why it has taken me so long to get round to reading her.

The Edward Marston – I read some of his a few years ago and got irritated by plot mistakes and thought I would give him another try but I wish I hadn’t bothered.  He needs to keep better writing notes and/or get a better editor.   His characterisation is not great either, caricatures rather than developed, nuanced characters.

The Kate Ellis are quite good, not as absorbing as the Ann Cleeves but good enough holiday reading.

The Robin Paige was not engrossing at all so I will not be seeking out any more from this writer.

The Ngaio Marsh was masterful.

The Jacqueline Winspear was fun – I seem to remember having read some of hers before.  So I might look out for another before I next go away.

The Ann Cleeves I want to read straight away – all of them!

However as term is just starting and work really starts to pick up again now – I might just have to wait a while.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Holiday reading

Leave a comment